Please select the letter to see terminology.
C# - (pronounced: C-sharp)
A programming language used in Microsoft's .NET product, it technically looks a lot like Java (and Microsoft's Java offering, Visual J++). It includes properties and an event-driven programming model, and it uses the notion of delegation (object wrappers around functions), which are particularly appropriate for GUI and Web applications.
Cache - Cache, pronounced "cash", refers to a stored copy of (or pointers to) previously accessed data. The main implementation in computer architecture is to use a small area of very fast memory (SRAM) to store copies of recently accessed information from your main memory (RAM) or hard drive, which are a lot slower. In web browsers, page data is cached on the local hard drive to speed site access while reducing bandwidth demands. Alternatively, 'site templating engines' such as Smarty(PHP), Velocity(Java) and Cheetah(Python) use caching to speed up the delivery of dynamically generated content while reducing server demands.
Click-through - The process of clicking on an online ad and reaching the advertiser's destination page.
CMS - A CMS, or Content Management System, is an application designed to store, format, reproduce and manage Web/intranet data. The CMS usually uses a database to store the content and a server-side scripting language to recall and present the data.
Co-Located Hosting - Co-located hosting involves the Webmaster providing their own server, which is typically housed in a data center or facility that links it to the Internet. The Webmaster usually pays the data center a fee to house the server. This can be a cheaper arrangement than dedicated hosting for sites that receive a lot of traffic.
Cold Fusion - Cold Fusion is Macromedia's (and before that Allaire's) server-side scripting technology. It supports a range of databases including MS Access, dBASE, FoxPro, and Paradox.
Computer - Takaja hitraja shtuka, kotoraja ...
Conversion rate - An online marketing measurement of the percentage of users who take a desired action (meaning they fill out a form or make a purchase).
Cookie - Cookies are small files sent to a Web user's computer by a Website. The cookies allow the site's tracking programs to identify that computer. In this way, site owners can collect information about a user's movement among the site's pages, if and when the user returns to the site, and other similar data. Cookies can also allow site owners to serve particular users specific information, based on their previous interaction with the site. Amazon's "Your Favorites" is an example of this functionality.
Counter - Special schjotchik dlja ...
CPA - Cost Per Action - An online advertising payment model in which the publisher is only paid when a user takes a desired action (such as filling out a form or making a purchase).
CPC - Cost Per Click, same as Pay-Per-Click - An online advertising payment model in which the publisher is only paid when a user clicks on an online ad. Cost per click models have become more popular, particularly on search engines because the technology can target the ads based on the keywords a person used to search. For example, if I search Google on "radio stations Seattle" --in addition to the search results, a couple of sponsored links appear about "Washington State Radio Stations" and "AM, FM Station Lookup"-- these sponsored links are cost per click ads.
CPL - Cost Per Lead - A pricing model that defines how much revenue a publisher receives when a viewer clicks on a banner ad and is taken to the advertiser's Web site. The publisher is only paid if the viewer becomes a qualified lead by completing the registration form or signing up for the offer the advertiser is promoting.
CPM - Cost Per Thousand - A marketing term that refers to the amount of money charged for one thousand page impressions. For example, a $20 CPM represents $20 per 1,000 displays of an ad banner. The "M" comes from the French term mille, which means thousand.
Crawler - a.k.a. bot -or- spider -or- wanderer.
Synonymous with spider, this is a program that searches the Internet in order to locate new, publicly accessible resources, such as Web pages, files available in public FTP archives, and Gopher documents. Also called wanderers or bots, crawlers contribute their discoveries to a database that Internet users can search by using a search engine. This type of technology is necessary because the rate at which people create new Internet documents greatly exceeds any manual indexing capacity (which is how it's done with search directories).
CRM - a.k.a. customer intelligence -or- e-business relationship management -or- e-CRM -or- personalization.
A business discipline designed to identify, attract, and retain a company's most valuable customers. It describes improved and increased communication between a company and its customers. First espoused in the 1960's by management gurus Peter Drucker and Theodore Levitt, CRM is intended to provide a unified, company-wide view of the customer and to cultivate high-quality relationships that increase loyalty and profits. Basically, the idea is not to let an interaction with a customer escape a firm's centralized database. The focus is on learning more about customers and using that knowledge to refine every interaction with them. Effective CRM requires an integrated sales, marketing, and service strategy, supported by CRM software that provides profiles and histories of each interaction the company has with each customer. When managers cull this data, it helps them evaluate their progress. A comprehensive CRM strategy can anticipate needs; tailor messages, products, and services; create value; anticipate problems; and improve the customer's overall experience in dealing with the company. Welcome to 21st century business.
CSS - Cascading Style Sheets for a set of formatting rules interpreted by the Web browser (or other client) that may contain the styling and formatting information intended for the presentation of a Web page. The W3C recommends the use of CSS to help keep Web content (HTML/XHTML) separate from its formatting information.
CTA - Call To Action - An acronym used primarily in online marketing, it refers to a statement that tries to get a user to do something such as click on a link or fill out a form.
CTR - An online marketing term, this is the percentage of users who click on an online ad. For example, if 50 users click on an ad that has been shown 1000 times, it works out to be: 50/1000 X 100% = 5%. It is supposed to be a good measurement of an online ad's effectiveness (which in general must not be very effective, since the average click-through rate is less than 1%). Targeted ad banners, on the other hand, are said to increase click-through rates by 20%.